Goodbye Charles Norman Agustus Caesar Samuel Macallie Atkinson

Standard

Yesterday one of my favorite people joined the angels in Heaven. I don’t know how to express my sorrow and the aching pain left by such a big loss. All I can say is the world is a little more beautiful because he was in it. I’m not a poet but these words came to me early this morning after the news that my Uncle Sammy (aka Charles Norman Agustus Caesar Samuel Macallie Atkinson!) had left us.  I’m lucky to have known such a sweet and wonderful person even a little.

I Need To Know You More

I never knew your favorite song

I never did implore

I only heard your heartstring’s hum

I need to know you more

 

I never knew your favorite color

I never asked before

I only knew your sparkling eyes

I need to know you more

 

I wish I’d asked what made you laugh

The causes you fought for

I only knew your warm embrace

I need to know you more

 

I should have asked about your dreams

The goals you had in store

I only knew your gentle smile

I need to know you more

 

I’d hoped to learn what brought you joy

What made your spirit soar?

I only knew the light you shined

I need to know you more

 

I bet God smiled when you returned

His masterpiece restored

I bet the seraphs danced with delight

To get to know you more

 

It’s clear to me, someone like you

So easy to adore

Will always leave someone like me

With the need to know you more

 10687190_10152646944291900_3169570786627012142_n

I love you Uncle Sammy. You will be missed.

Suzanna

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

