Just Do It

Standard

Nike came out with the slogan Just Do It when I was about 8 or 9 years old. I had no idea what it meant but it was everywhere. The entire goal of the campaign was to make Nike shoes a fashion statement or a lifestyle rather than athletic wear. They wanted to make it personal. 25 years later it reached me on a personal level.

The other night I was reminiscing with my dad about some of the things we did together when I was younger. I told him the hardest I have ever worked was helping him on one of his jobs years ago. We were putting insulation in a building he had been contracted to work on. He let me help him to earn some extra money. There were new requirements we had to follow so dad would cut chunks of insulation and wrap it around big metal duct work and tape it. I would follow behind him and push metal covers over nails so the insulation was held tightly to the duct work. This was tough but on top of the actual work there was snow on the ground, we were up in the rafter of a building and it was late at night. By the time we finished every fingertip was worn off of my gloves from hitting nails by accident.  I remember working for hours right by my dad and asking myself the same question over and over again.

How does he work this hard every day???

This morning I thought about the Nike slogan Just Do It, partially because I’m pretty sure I have undiagnosed A.D.D. but also because it was the answer to my question. Dad works hard every day because it has to be done. He just does it.  He doesn’t complain or throw himself a pity party. He doesn’t talk or dwell on whether it’s fair or not. He does it with a smile! Both of my parents do! I laughed when I thought about how Nike had finally succeeded in making their slogan personal to me though I give my dad the credit.

Suddenly Just Do It rings true! Life may not be full of everything I think I deserve but it doesn’t mean I can’t be positive and push through what needs to be done. Good things come in their own time if we are open to them. They may not be what we had planned but if we are focusing on what needs to be done instead of complaining it’s way easier to see the nice surprises along the way. So I think I am going to start applying the Nike slogan to my own life!

I can’t write a blog. Noone will ever read it!: Just Do It!

I don’t want to get up at 5am: Just Do It!

I can’t raise a child and work: Just Do It!

I can’t change one more diaper: Just Do It!

There is no praise or gratification in this: Just Do It!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

