Mirror Mirror On the Wall

Standard

“Mirror Mirror on the Wall, Who Is the Fairest of Them All?” That is the million dollar question.

I’m at war with myself. I marvel at what my body has been through and what it has accomplished when I look at the little baby we have. The older and more alert Ian gets the harder it is to believe that I’m partially responsible for him being here! I worked pretty hard throughout my pregnancy in hopes that my figure wouldn’t change too much but what I didn’t prepare for was the change in my psyche.

When I look in the mirror I see changes. There are changes in my eyes and changes in the curve of my face. However the greatest change is in the way I see myself. I don’t just see dark circles, tired skin and messy hair. I see a girl who is growing into a mother, wife and hopefully better person! I feel like the most beautiful creature in the world because of Ian and Dave even though I don’t see many traces of it on the outside. Sometimes I groan inwardly to myself thinking if I could just color my hair, get new makeup or get some sleep what I see in the mirror would start to match what I see on the inside.

In reality being a mother, a wife, a good employee, a daughter  a sister etc. isn’t easy! Living isn’t always easy. However the struggles in life temper us and make us beautiful. This is not a declaration that I am giving up on my outward appearance but I think if I have to trade in my brown hair for grey it just might be worth it. I’ll probably still color it for a few more years but I’m going to try really hard not to resent it. I quote Mark Twain pretty often because I think he got life. He didn’t over complicate it. He just tried to see the humor in the human plight. He put things simply and I’m a big fan of putting things simply. He said wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been. I think I want that to be my legacy. I want to be happy more than beautiful. Hair, clothing and makeup can only cover up so much ugly!  Maybe growing old gracefully isn’t just about beauty cream. Maybe it’s about embracing every beautiful stage in life. I’m never going to be 20 again. But today I get to be 33 and next year I won’t have that chance!

Mirror Mirror on the Wall, Who Is the Fairest of …ah who cares! Just enjoy the ride!

photo (1)

One response »

Leave a Reply

