Vienna

Standard

Dave and I have to take pictures of Ian just to remember what he looked like last week! Sometimes in the early morning hours we look at each other and go, man this is going by way too quickly. As ridiculous as it sounds I get a little sad because every diaper changed is is one less diaper he will be wearing! We said au revoir to the new born diapers and moved him into some larger digs and I teared up a little when no one was looking.

So tonight while changing Ian’s ever so large “digs” full of baby poop I began humming the song Vienna to him, I had to smile at how closely some of the song lyrics reflected my own feelings. Oh how much I want him to slow down and stay little so I can savor this time. Then I realized it’s me who needs to slow down a little and pay attention. There might be a lesson somewhere in there. Well played Billy Joel. Well played.

Vienna:

Slow down, you crazy child
you’re so ambitious for a juvenile
But then if you’re so smart, tell me
Why are you still so afraid?

Where’s the fire, what’s the hurry about?
You’d better cool it off before you burn it out
You’ve got so much to do and
Only so many hours in a day

Today we discovered Ian’s newborn pants have become capris…flood pants…shorts!

20140103-141832.jpg

20140103-233714.jpg

Slow down, you’re doing fine
You can’t be everything you want to be
Before your time
Although it’s so romantic on the borderline tonight
Tonight,…

Slow down, you crazy child
and take the phone off the hook and disappear for awhile
it’s all right, you can afford to lose a day or two
When will you realize,..Vienna waits for you?
Why don’t you realize,. Vienna waits for you

20140103-233057.jpg

One response »

Leave a Reply

